Facebook     Twitter 


Latest News

  • 16th May 2016      

    The 2017 BSSVD Meeting is in Sheffield and will be held over one day.  Details can be viewed at the Meetings page


All News

History of the BSSVD

Vulval medicine is a fairly new branch of medicine and crosses traditional boundaries in medicine as it is practiced by surgeons (gynaecologists) and physicians (dermatologists and genito-urinary medicine/sexual health). There was therefore a lack of collaboration and sharing of experience between the different medical specialties, and to overcome this in the UK the BSSVD was founded in the 1990's to share expertise and experience and thus improve the diagnosis and treatment of vulval conditions.

The BSSVD is now a UK based international society currently numbering over 160 and  drawn from a range of specialities such as Dermatology, Gynaecology, Genitourinary Medicine, Histopathology and Sexual Health. The BSSVD works closely with a number of patient groups including the Vulval Pain Society, UKLP (lichen planus) and The Association for Lichen Sclerosus & Vulval Heath.


Recent achievements include:

  1. Guidelines on Vulval pain syndromes (published British Journal of Dermatology 2010)
  2. Contribution to the NHS Clinical Knowledge on pruritus vulvae for primary care and first contact physicians.
  3. Representation at a NICE event on guideline development.
  4. Completed Cochrane review on lichen sclerosus treatment.
  5. Cochrane reviews on lichen planus and VIN in development.
  6. Representation at an International Gynaecology conference (BICOG)

Committee Members and Officers

Please click on 'read more' for a list of the BSSVD officers.

These people help the BSSVD deliver their service to you, please keep all contact from this website relevant to BSSVD.

For more information on the roles of our officers please follow the appropriate links at the bottom of the page.



      There is a vacancy for 2 Council members, ideally from genitourinary medicine and pathology, to maintain the balance  of specialties on the Council.