Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner

If you are worried about someone knowing you have visited this website please read the following safety information.

The safest way to hide your tracks is to use a computer at work, at the library or a friend or relative's house.

If you have to use your own computer, and the person abusing you has access to it, please take a few minutes to read the information below about staying safe when visiting this website.

As a rule, internet browsers will save certain information as you surf the internet. This includes images from websites visited, information entered into search engines and a trail ('history') that reveals the sites you have visited.

If you are using the latest versions of internet browsers, click on the button that says 'private' or 'secret' browsing. This means that the pages you visit won't be recorded.

If you know what browser you are using, then skip to the relevant instructions below. If you do not know the type of browser you are using, click on Help on the toolbar at the top of the browser screen. A drop down menu will appear, the last entry will say About Internet Explorer, About Mozilla Firefox etc.

Internet Explorer:
Click on the Tools menu and select Internet Options. On the General page, under Temporary Internet Files, click on Delete Cookies and then OK. Click on Delete Files, put a tick in the box labeled Delete all offline content and click OK. Under History, click on Clear History and then OK. Now look at the top of the window and click on the Content tab, select AutoComplete and finally, Clear Forms.

Firefox:
Click on Tools and then Options, then click on Privacy. Click on the Clear button next to Cache and Saved Form Information.

Deleting your browsing history:
Internet browsers also keep a record of all the web pages you visit. This is known as a 'history'. To delete history for Internet Explorer and Firefox hold down the Ctrl key on the keyboard, then press the H key. Find any entries that say www.vidasheffield.org.uk, right click and choose Delete.

Email:
If an abuser sends you threatening or harassing email messages, they may be printed and saved as evidence of this abuse. Any email you have previously sent will be stored in Sent Items. If you started an email but didn't finish it, it might be in your Drafts folder. If you reply to any email, the original message will probably be in the body of the message - print and delete the email if you dont want anyone to see your original message.

When you delete an item in any email program (Outlook, Thunderbird etc) it does not really delete the item - it moves the item to a folder called Deleted Items. Right click on the Deleted Items folder to delete permanently.

Toolbars:
Toolbars such as Google keep a record of the search words you have typed into the toolbar search box. In order to erase all the search words you have typed in, you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose "Clear Search History".

General security:
If you do not use a password to log on to your computer, someone else will be able to access your email and track your internet usage. The safest way to find information on the internet would be at a local library, a friend's house, or at work.

The safest way to find information on the internet, would be at a local library, a friend's house, or at work.